2

Since https://sitecore.stackexchange.com/ is considered general QA for Sitecore, would there be any objections to having a code-revew tag so people could post snippets of code for review and suggestions, similar to https://codereview.stackexchange.com/ - it doesn't seem necessary to have a codereview.sitecore.stackexchange (as there would not be enough demand I'm sure) and it might be nicer to keep sitecore related code reviews in sitecore.stackexchange instead of the general code review SE site.

3
  • Any reason for the down-vote without a comment? I'm totally open to accepting reasons why this might not be a good idea, but it would be useful to have an explanation. Sep 19, 2016 at 8:43
  • 1
    I think we have an upset; over a downvote/vote-to-close situation - almost all new questions get 1 downvote ;-)
    – Mark Cassidy Mod
    Sep 19, 2016 at 23:54
  • That's the spirit ;-) Sep 20, 2016 at 14:51

2 Answers 2

3

Without putting words in Matthews mouth; I'm almost certain it was implied that this would be more like a "is this code the right approach for an item:saved handler, or am I missing something?" type of code-review. And I think it would be a great idea.

I propose a tag something like please-review

2
  • Agreed that is a good idea
    – Richard Seal Mod
    Sep 20, 2016 at 14:11
  • That's exactly what I meant. Thanks mark Sep 20, 2016 at 14:51
2

I think that these things would already be covered by https://codereview.stackexchange.com/ - I don't see the need for a specific Sitecore version of that.

What benefits would it give us?

3
  • 1
    You could make the same argument about Stackoverflow and Superuser... I think part of the idea is consolidation of information and community. Sep 20, 2016 at 14:08
  • Totally agree, just going of the info @mark-cassidy put up about what the SE guys will be looking for.
    – Richard Seal Mod
    Sep 20, 2016 at 14:12
  • I agree with Richard on this. There is a distinction between "please review my code" and "I'm trying to do X, this is what I have so far, is this the correct approach". The sites that cover this already exist for a reason.
    – jammykam Mod
    Sep 21, 2016 at 16:29

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .